Read Alikes: They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner
History Is All You Left Me by Adam SilveraMore Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk
The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
The Place Between Breaths by An Na
The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Advertisements

Don’t forget to vote!

Diverse Hands Holding the Word Vote

Read Alikes: The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

 

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate
Greenglass House by Kate Milford
Orphan Island by Laurel Snyder
Pax by Sara Pennypacker
Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes by Jonathan Auxier
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
The Mystery of Hollow Places by Rebecca Podos
The Night Gardener Jonathan Auxier
The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
The Witch’s Boy by Kelly Barnhill

The Reader by Traci Chee

“Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.” –Amazon

  • An ALA Top Ten Best Fiction Pick – 2017
  • A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year – 2016
  • Finalist for the 2016 Kirkus Prize
  • A Kirkus Best Book of the Year – 2016
  • An NPR Best Book of the Year – 2016
  • A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year – 2016
  • A Bustle Best YA Book of the Year – 2016
  • Minnesota Public Radio Best YA Book of the Year – 2016
  • A Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year – 2016
  • A 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award Winner
  • An ABA Indies Choice Honor Book – 2017

 

Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart

“Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.

Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.

One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.” –Amazon

  • An Indie Next Pick!
  • Amazon Best Book of the Month!
  • CBC’s May Hot Off the Press!
  • An NAIBA Seasonal Pick!
  • A New York Public Library Best book for Kids, 2016!
  • Another Indie Favorite Title!
  • Amazon’s Top 20 Children’s Books of 2016
  • 2017 Southern Book Award Finalist
  • Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health
  • NPR’s Best Kids’ Books of 2016
  • Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016
  • New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016
  • Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal
  • YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults
  • YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
  • ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List — GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
  • Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee
  • Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
  • Wisconsin State Reading Association’s Just One More Page Selection, 2017
  • Junior Library Guild Selection
  • Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 — Best Middle Grade & Children’s
  • 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award
  • 2016 Rainbow Awards — Best Transgender Book
  • 2016 Spring Okra Pick — the Best in Southern Literature

Angie Thomas: Author of The Hate U Give

 

Read-Alikes: The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline

 

Dreaming in Indian edited by Lisa Charleyboy and and Mary Beth Leatherdale.
House of Purple Cedar by Tim Tingle
Indian Horse by Richard Wagamese
Love Beyond Body, Space, and Time by Hope Nicholson
Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese
A Girl Called Echo by Katherena Vermette
Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older
Strangers by David Robertson
The Lesser Blessed by Richard Van Camp
The Night Wanderer by Drew Hayden Taylor

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill

“Every year, the people of the Protectorate leave a baby as an offering to the witch who lives in the forest. They hope this sacrifice will keep her from terrorizing their town. But the witch in the Forest, Xan, is kind. She shares her home with a wise Swamp Monster and a Perfectly Tiny Dragon. Xan rescues the children and delivers them to welcoming families on the other side of the forest, nourishing the babies with starlight on the journey.

One year, Xan accidentally feeds a baby moonlight instead of starlight, filling the ordinary child with extraordinary magic. Xan decides she must raise this girl, whom she calls Luna, as her own. As Luna’s thirteenth birthday approaches, her magic begins to emerge–with dangerous consequences. Meanwhile, a young man from the Protectorate is determined to free his people by killing the witch. Deadly birds with uncertain intentions flock nearby. A volcano, quiet for centuries, rumbles just beneath the earth’s surface. And the woman with the Tiger’s heart is on the prowl….”–Amazon

  • Winner of the 2017 Newbery Medal
  • The New York Times Bestseller
  • An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book of 2016
  • A New York Public Library Best Book of 2016
  • A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2016
  • An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016
  • A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2016
  • A School Library Journal Best Book of 2016
  • Named to KirkusReviews’ Best Books of 2016
  • 2017 Booklist Youth Editors’ Choice
  • EW.com, The Best Middle-Grade Books of 2016
  • Kirkus Reviews, starred review
  • Booklist, starred review
  • School Library Journal, starred review
  • Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, starred review
  • Shelf Awareness for Readers, starred review

When Dimple Met Rishi

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

“Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.” –Amazon

 

  • A Summer 2017 Top Ten Indie Next Pick
  • A Junior Library Guild Selection
  • Teen Vogue’s 10 Diverse Books by YA Authors of Color to Read in 2017
  • Bustle’s 19 Best Young Adult Books of May 2017
  • Seventeen Magazine’s 12 Life-Changing Books You Have to Read This Summer
  • com’s 10 Most Anticipated Young Adult Books of May 2017
  • New York Times and national Indie bestseller
  • Kirkus Reviews, starred review
  • VOYA, starred review
  • SLJ’s Best YA of 2017
  • Kirkus Best of 2017