Read Alikes: Every Day

It’s hard to compile a list of books that may provide a similar read to David Levithan’s Every Day because Every Day is a remarkably unique book. The premise is fantastic: a genderless being named “A” wakes up every day in a different body and must live that person’s life without interfering. And then one day, A wakes up in a young man’s body and falls in love with his girlfriend.

Fantasy, right?

Well, not exactly. Levithan takes this fantastical premise and somehow makes it entirely believable. The resulting story–at times gritty, romantic, funny and suspenseful–is a genre-jumping wonder that will hold the interest of fantasy and realistic-fiction fans alike. With that in mind, we suggest these diverse books that might appeal to fans of Every Day:

Getting The Girl Getting the Girl by Markus Zusak

“Cameron Wolfe is the quiet one in his family, not a soccer star like his brother Steve or a charming fighter with a new girl every week like his brother Rube. Cam would give anything to be near one of those girls, to love her and treat her right. He especially likes Rube’s latest, Octavia, with her brilliant ideas and bright green eyes. But what woman like that would want a loser like him? Maybe Octavia would, Cam discovers. Maybe he’d even have something to say. And those maybes change everything: winning, loving, losing, the Wolfe brothers, and Cameron himself.” (Source: Amazon.ca)

Life After LifeLife After Life by Kate Atkinson

“What if you had the chance to live your life again and again, until you finally got it right?

“During a snowstorm in England in 1910, a baby is born and dies before she can take her first breath.

“During a snowstorm in England in 1910, the same baby is born and lives to tell the tale.

“What if there were second chances? And third chances? In fact an infinite number of chances to live your life? Would you eventually be able to save the world from its own inevitable destiny? And would you even want to?  Life After Life follows Ursula Todd as she lives through the turbulent events of the last century again and again.” (Source: http://www.kateatkinson.co.uk)

boy meets boyBoy Meets Boy by David Levithan

If you liked Levithan’s Every Day, chances are you’ll like his other books. Boy Meets Boy is another love story steeped in realism, humour, and high-school life — with a twist.

Here is the book’s description, from Amazon.ca:

“This is the story of Paul, a sophomore at a high school like no other: The cheerleaders ride Harleys, the homecoming queen used to be a guy named Daryl (she now prefers Infinite Darlene and is also the star quarterback), and the gay-straight alliance was formed to help the straight kids learn how to dance.

“When Paul meets Noah, he thinks he’s found the one his heart is made for. Until he blows it. The school bookie says the odds are 12-to-1 against him getting Noah back, but Paul’s not giving up without playing his love really loud. His best friend Joni might be drifting away, his other best friend Tony might be dealing with ultra-religious parents, and his ex-boyfriend Kyle might not be going away anytime soon, but sometimes everything needs to fall apart before it can really fit together right.” (Source: Amazon.ca)

Advertisements

Posted on May 8, 2014, in Read-Alikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: