Read Alikes — Far Far Away

We loved the fairy-tale feel and the quirky, clever characters in Tom McNeal’s Far Far Away. Check out these read-alikes for other sure-to-please novels:

1) Anything by Neil Gaiman. Some of our favourite picks are Coraline, Anansi Boys, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

Coraline by Neil GaimanThe Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil GaimanAnansi Boys by Neil Gaiman

The Washington Post described Coraline (2002) as “inventive, scary, thrilling, and finally affirmative.” If you’ve seen the movie but have never read the book, give it a try. Nothing beats Gaiman’s clear writing and creepily creative plot-line. The Ocean at the End of the Lane (2013) has similar creep-factor, in a fairy tale that will resonate with adults and teens alike. It’s the story of a middle-aged man who returns to his childhood home and falls into a flood of remembrance about the strange, magical, and deeply scary things that happened to him as a child. Our third Gaiman pick, Anansi Boys, brings a modern riff to the old African myth about trickster-god Anansi. Gaiman introduces readers to Fat Charlie Nancy, whose dull life ends once he realizes his dad was a god, and to Charlie’s long-lost and dangerous brother, Spider.

Other read-alikes for Far Far Away:

Doll Bones by Holly BlackDoll Bones by Holly Black (2013)

“Zach, Poppy, and Alice have been friends forever. And for almost as long, they’ve been playing one continuous, ever-changing game of pirates and thieves, mermaids and warriors. Ruling over all is the Great Queen, a bone-china doll cursing those who displease her.

“But they are in middle school now. Zach’s father pushes him to give up make-believe, and Zach quits the game. Their friendship might be over, until Poppy declares she’s been having dreams about the Queen—and the ghost of a girl who will not rest until the bone-china doll is buried in her empty grave.

“Zach and Alice and Poppy set off on one last adventure to lay the Queen’s ghost to rest. But nothing goes according to plan, and as their adventure turns into an epic journey, creepy things begin to happen. Is the doll just a doll or something more sinister? And if there really is a ghost, will it let them go now that it has them in its clutches?” (Source: blackholly.com)

 

The Prince of the Mist by Carlos Ruiz ZafonThe Prince of Mist by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (1993, Spanish; English edition 2010)

Readers describe this book as a cross between Neil Gaiman and Stephen King: part suspense-horror-mystery, fairy tale, fantasy and ghost story.

“Nothing is more powerful than a promise,” says the book’s trailer. The Prince of Mist is the story of Max, whose father moves the family to an abandoned house on the remote seaside. The house features an overgrown garden, strange statuary, and a whispering wardrobe. A lonely lighthouse surveys the site of a shipwreck that years ago killed all aboard but one. And so Max begins to unravel the story of the legendary Prince of Mist.

 

NearWitchThe Near Witch by Victoria Schwab (2011)

“The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children.
If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for compan
y.  There are no strangers in the town of Near.

“These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life. But when an actual stranger-a boy who seems to fade like smoke-appears outside her home on the moor at night, she knows that at least one of these sayings is no longer true.

“The next night, the children of Near start disappearing from their beds, and the mysterious boy falls under suspicion.  As the hunt for the children intensifies, so does Lexi’s need to know- about the witch that just might be more than a bedtime story, about the wind that seems to speak through the walls at night, and about the history of this nameless boy. ” (Source: victoriaschwab.com)

Advertisements

Posted on April 29, 2014, in Read-Alikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: