Read Alikes — The 5th Wave

If you liked the sci-fi dystopia of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave, here are three read-alikes you might try:

EndersGame2Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (1977)

“Intense is the word for Ender’s Game. Aliens have   attacked Earth twice and almost destroyed the human  species. To make sure humans win the next encounter, the world government has taken to breeding military geniuses — and then training them in the arts of war… The early training, not surprisingly, takes the form of ‘games’. … Ender Wiggin is a genius among geniuses; he wins all the games…. But is he smart enough to save the planet?” (Source: New York Times, from the book jacket of Ender’s Game)

 

I Am Number Four by Pittacus LoreI Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore (2010)

“Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you — But we are not you. We have powers you dream of having. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books — But we are real. They caught Number One in Malaysia. Number Two in England. And Number Three in Kenya. They killed them all. I am Number Four. I am next.” (Source: I Am Number Four book jacket)

 

 

TheHungerGamesThe Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (2008) was the runaway winner of the 2012 CCRSB Teen Reader’s Choice Book Award. Writer John Green calls it “brilliantly plotted and perfectly paced.” Stephen King described it as “a violent, jarring, speed-rap of a novel that generates nearly constant suspense.” Many of you have already read the book or watched the movie. But if you haven’t given the Hunger Games a try, you’re in for a fast-paced treat.

Advertisements

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Read-Alikes, Top 10 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: