Far Far Away

FarFarAway

Far Far Away by Tom McNeal (2013)

In a small town where nothing ever happens, everything is about to change.

Jeremy Johnson Johnson hears voices. Or, specifically, one voice: the ghost of Jacob Grimm, one half of The Brothers Grimm. Jacob watches over Jeremy, protecting him from an unknown dark evil whispered about in the space between this world and the next.

But Jacob can’t protect Jeremy from everything. When coltish, copper-haired Ginger Boultinghouse takes a bite of a cake so delicious it’s rumored to be bewitched, she falls in love with the first person she sees: Jeremy. In any other place, this would be a turn for the better for Jeremy, but not in Never Better, where the Finder of Occasions—whose identity and evil intentions nobody knows—is watching and waiting, waiting and watching. . . And as anyone familiar with the Brothers Grimm know, not all fairy tales have happy endings. (Publisher’s website)

Advertisements
  1. McNeal has written an imaginative tale that will greatly entertain the reader. Far Far Away is a magical, heartwarming story and I guarantee you will be enchanted by Jeremy Johnson Johnson.

  2. I have felt an emotional attachment to this novel.

    • I loved this novel, and was sad when it ended. We posted a list of books on the blog today that might appeal to readers who liked Far Far Away. Neil Gaiman comes up repeatedly in lists of read-alikes for Far Far Away. Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s The Prince of Mist is next on my reading list. –LL @ PRHS

  3. I really enjoyed this book, but I couldn’t get many students to read it. I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, but I think a more interesting cover would have helped. I liked how it crossed many genres including realistic, romance, suspense and fantasy. I really liked the ghost’s character and how it problem-solved at the end.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: