And The Winner Is…

LiarsThe results are in! 851 votes were cast and the winner is We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

The full list of nominees, ordered by number of votes received, is:

1) We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (317 votes)

2) I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (79 votes)

3) Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern (76 votes)

4) The Young Elites by Marie Lu (74 votes)

5) Out Of The Easy by Ruta Sepetys (67 votes)

6) War Brothers by Sharon E. McKay and Daniel Lafrance   (64 votes)

7) Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (58 votes)

8) The Nazi Hunters by Neal Bascomb (46 votes)

9) In The Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters (40 votes)

10) Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (30 votes)

CCRSB Library Services would like to extend a huge thank you to all participating staff and students for making this program a great success! It couldn’t have happened without you!

Between Shades of Gray Gets Movie Option

Between Shades of Grey

The book Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys is set to be adapted for the big screen by Sorrento Productions and Tauras Films. Marius Markevicius will direct and Ben York Jones will adapt the script.

Between Shades of Gray, the 2011 best-selling YA novel by Ruta Sepetys, tells the story of a young teenager, Lina Vilkas, who is deported to Siberia during Stalin’s reign during World War II and separated from her father.

Between Shades of Gray was a 2013 Teen Reader’s Choice Award nominee.

Read Alikes – Say What You Will

Read Alikes 3

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern tells the story of Amy, a young girl searching for the truth. But according to her, almost no one tells you the truth when you are disabled. Then she meets Matthew. He has no problem being honest with her. Amy likes that.

Amy, after spending time with Matthew and learning that he has his own secrets, decides to try to help him in the same way he’s helped her. When what started out as a friendship turns into something neither of them expected, both Amy and Matthew realize that they tell each other everything—except the one thing that matters most.

If you enjoyed reading the story of Amy and Matthew you make also like the following novels.

Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

One Plus One Equals Blue by M. J. Auch

Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy

Skinny by Donna Cooner

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten

Wonder by R. J. Palacio

Zac and Mia by A. J Betts

A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern


HarperCollins Publishers recently released the following information regarding Ms. McGovern’s next novel. Those who enjoyed Say What You Will are sure to enjoy her upcoming work. The title is set to be released on 13 October 2015.

“Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes, and learning to forgive. Told in alternating points of view, A Step Toward Falling is a poignant, hopeful, and altogether stunning work that will appeal to fans of Jennifer Nevin, Robyn Schneider, and Jandy Nelson.

Emily has always been the kind of girl who tries to do the right thing—until one night when she does the worst thing possible. She sees Belinda, a classmate with developmental disabilities, being attacked. Inexplicably, she does nothing at all.

Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. Soon, Lucas and Emily begin to feel like maybe they’re starting to make a real difference. Like they would be able to do the right thing if they could do that night all over again. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most?”

Read Alikes – I’ll Give You The Sun

Read Alikes 3

If you enjoyed I’ll Give You The Sun, Jandy Nelson’s New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family loss and betrayal, you may also enjoy the following novels.

Drop by your school library and check out the collection. Your librarian will be happy to help you find that next great book.

If you haven’t yet read I’ll Give You The Sun then stop by your library today. Check out Jandy’s novel or any of the other top ten TRCA books.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Every Day by David Levithan

Fan Art by Sarah Tregay

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

Moon at Nine by Deborah Ellis

My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger

Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn

Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green

Read Alikes – Rose Under Fire

Read Alikes 3

If you enjoyed Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein you may also enjoy the following historical novels. 

Drop by your school library and check out its great historical fiction collection. Your librarian will be happy to help you find that next great book.


Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

Code Named Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Graffiti Knight by Karen Bass

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

Soldier Doll by Jennifer Gold

Thunderous Whisper by Christina Diaz Gonzalez

Underground Soldier by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch

The Capture and Trial of Adolf Eichmann


We Were Liars Gets Movie Option



Lockhart wrote the script

It was optioned by Imperative      Entertainment

It means (hopefully) more YA in the movies

The incredible casting potential

It’s a gorgeous summer story

The themes are genre kryptonite

The mystery!

Fan Art

Many readers of the YA genre put their ideas to paper in the form of fan art. Below are some great examples of various characters in Marie Lu’s The Young Elites.

If you are a talented young artist feel free to visually represent any of the characters in the TRCA Top Ten books. Your librarian will be pleased to post your work in the library. Happy drawing!

Young Elites



An Interview With Jandy Nelson


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.