Nicola Yoon Discusses Debut Novel, Everything, Everything


“All The Bright Places” Trailer

Message from Laurie Halse Anderson author of The Impossible Knife of Memory

AndersonDear Ms. Allen,

Thank you so much for the exciting news about the nomination of The Impossible Knife of Memory! Thank you so much for the opportunity to share a few things with your readers!

As I watched soldiers returning from Afghanistan and Iraq – many of them struggling with PTSD – I couldn’t stop thinking about their children. My father developed PTSD as a result of his experience in World War II. His depression and alcoholism nearly destroyed our family.

I wrote The Impossible Knife of Memory to show the incredible challenges faced by teens whose parents are dealing with substance abuse and mental illness. I borrowed a lot from my own life; the terror I felt when my dad was suicidal, my confusion about his mood swings, my anger when he passed out drunk, and my constant prayer that he would get better. There is a lot of sadness in this book, but there’s also friendship, humor, and the kind of love that gives you the strength and hope you need when times are tough. I hope your readers like it.

Very truly yours,
Laurie Halse Anderson

“The Thing About Jellyfish” Trailer – Fanmade

Josh Sundquist author of We Should Hang Out Sometime

Message from Meg Wolitzer author of Belzhar


I’m really happy that Belzhar was nominated for a Teen Reader’s Choice Award.  I tried to write the kind of book that I would have wanted to read when I was a teenager.  The novel takes place at a boarding school for “emotionally fragile, highly intelligent teenagers.”  I liked the idea of setting it there, because it meant that the characters would be far away from their families and friends, and off in a new situation where anything could happen.  Fantasy ripples very lightly through the book, and I don’t want to say too much, but I will say that the ending is something that a lot of people seem to want to know about, asking me, “Did you always know it would end that way?” The answer is, “Not exactly.”  Every book has to find its own story, and the writer has to struggle to tell it.  I tried to do that, and along the way I loved being in the world of my characters.  I still miss them.

All the best,


“The Impossible Knife of Memory” Trailer

Welcome to TRCA 2016.


The fifth annual CCRSB Teen Reader’s Choice Award kicks off on 8 March 2016! If you are a CCRSB student in grades 7-12, you are invited to read from this year’s list of 10 amazing books and vote for your favourite to be the winner of the CCRSB Teen Reader’s Choice Award.

CCRSB Library Services staff carefully chose the 2016 Top 10 based on the best critical reviews, readers’ reviews, and the books’ performances on well-respected awards lists. These titles represent a wide range of genres and include some of the best fiction and non-fiction published between January, 2014  and December, 2015.

  • All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  • Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer
  • The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
  • Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
  • Greenglass House by Kate Milford
  • The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller
  • Nimona by Noella Stevenson
  • The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin
  • We Should Hang Out Sometime: Embarrassingly, a True Story by Josh Sundquist

Participating is easy! Just follow these three steps:

1) Read at least one of the Top 10 titles between March 8th and May 20th. All 10 nominees are available from your school library. If you’ve already read one of the nominated titles, read another! You never know – you may find your new favourite book.

 2) Discuss the books with other CCRSB students on the pages linked at the top of this website. Please remember these rules when submitting comments:

  • Don’t include any identifying information (last name, school, location, etc.).
  • Be respectful of other students’ comments.
  • Use school appropriate language.

3) Until May 20th vote for your favourite book to be the 2015 Teen Reader’s Choice Award Winner! The winning book will be announced on Tuesday, May 31st.

Head to your school library, grab a Top 10 book, and let’s start reading!

And The Winner Is…

LiarsThe results are in! 851 votes were cast and the winner is We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

The full list of nominees, ordered by number of votes received, is:

1) We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (317 votes)

2) I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (79 votes)

3) Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern (76 votes)

4) The Young Elites by Marie Lu (74 votes)

5) Out Of The Easy by Ruta Sepetys (67 votes)

6) War Brothers by Sharon E. McKay and Daniel Lafrance   (64 votes)

7) Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (58 votes)

8) The Nazi Hunters by Neal Bascomb (46 votes)

9) In The Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters (40 votes)

10) Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (30 votes)

CCRSB Library Services would like to extend a huge thank you to all participating staff and students for making this program a great success! It couldn’t have happened without you!

Between Shades of Gray Gets Movie Option

Between Shades of Grey

The book Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys is set to be adapted for the big screen by Sorrento Productions and Tauras Films. Marius Markevicius will direct and Ben York Jones will adapt the script.

Between Shades of Gray, the 2011 best-selling YA novel by Ruta Sepetys, tells the story of a young teenager, Lina Vilkas, who is deported to Siberia during Stalin’s reign during World War II and separated from her father.

Between Shades of Gray was a 2013 Teen Reader’s Choice Award nominee.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.